CFR Presents

Asia Unbound

CFR experts give their take on the cutting-edge issues emerging in Asia today.

Speaking of the SCO … » SUMMIT-SCO/


(From L to R) Leaders of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Pakistan’s President Asif Ali Zardari, Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbayev, Uzbek President Islam Karimov, Chinese President Hu Jintao, Afghan President Hamid Karzai (partially obscured), Tajik President Imomali Rakhmonov, Kyrgyz President Kurmanbek Bakiyev and Russian President Dmitry Medvedev walk during a meeting in the Urals city of Yekaterinburg June 15, 2009. The SCO groups Russia, China and the ex-Soviet Central Asian republics of Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan. But leaders of Afghanistan, Pakistan and India, whose states have observer status, will also attend the summit. Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad delayed attending a regional security summit in Russia on Monday after protests against his contested re-election. REUTERS/RIA Novosti/Vladimir Rodionov/Pool (RUSSIA POLITICS)

Post a Comment

CFR seeks to foster civil and informed discussion of foreign policy issues. Opinions expressed on CFR blogs are solely those of the author or commenter, not of CFR, which takes no institutional positions. All comments must abide by CFR's guidelines and will be moderated prior to posting.

* Required