Who We Are

Arthur Ross Book Award

Arthur Ross Book Award

The annual Arthur Ross Book Award recognizes books that make an outstanding contribution to the understanding of foreign policy or international relations. The prize, endowed by the late Arthur Ross in 2001, is for nonfiction works from the past year, in English or translation, that merit special attention for:

  • bringing forth new information that changes the understanding of events or problems;
  • developing analytical approaches that offer insights into critical issues; or
  • introducing ideas that help resolve foreign policy problems.

2019 Award Winners

Gold Medal:
These Truths: A History of the United States
Jill Lepore

Silver Medal:
Churchill: Walking with Destiny
Andrew Roberts

Bronze Medal:
Vietnam: An Epic Tragedy, 1945-1975
Max Hastings

Arthur Ross Book Award Events

You can view past Arthur Ross Book Award events and read the transcripts here.

The Past Winners

Here is the list of past winners of the Arthur Ross Book Award, 2002 through 2018.


We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2020 award cycle. The deadline to submit nominations for the 2021 Arthur Ross Book Award is Sunday, February 21, 2021. If you would like to nominate a book published in 2020 for the 2021 award, please email ARBA@cfr.org with the following in the text of the email.

  • Book title
  • Book author
  • Publication date, including year
  • Publisher name

For any other inquiries, please call 212.434.9600.


Gideon Rose (Chair)
Peter G. Peterson Chair and Editor, Foreign Affairs

Lisa Anderson
President Emerita, American University in Cairo

Nicholas Eberstadt
Henry Wendt Chair in Political Economy, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research

Jose W. Fernandez
Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, LLP

Sumit Ganguly
Rabindranath Tagore Chair in Indian Cultures and Civilizations, Indiana University at Bloomington

Michelle D. Gavin
Senior Fellow for Africa Studies, Council on Foreign Relations; Former U.S. Ambassador to Botswana

Walter Russell Mead
James Clarke Chace Professor in Foreign Affairs and Humanities, Bard College

Susan L. Shirk
Research Professor and Chair, 21st Century China Center, University of California at San Diego

Calvin G. Sims
President and Chief Executive Officer, International House

Andrew Ross Sorkin
Columnist and Assistant Business Editor, New York Times

News Releases

News Releases